Are You Guilty Of This?

Miriam Dorsett
6 min readNov 23, 2020

Fake it till you make it! I’ve heard it many times throughout my life. Mentors and colleagues have told me it, men and women alike. I’ve even said it myself, to friends, mentees and associates.

Recently I came to a realization about what a load of bull it is.

Especially from the entrepreneur perspective. After explaining my thoughts to my dear friend Sushi, she implored me to write about it. Since I hate saying no to Sushi, I haven’t posted here in awhile, and I think this is very valuable change of mindset, here we are.

I have stopped using the phrase completely and welcome you to rethink your use of it as well.

Six Reasons You Should Stop Faking it Until You Make it.

1. You’re not fooling anyone

Do you ever get a feeling someone isn’t being true to themselves? Those are your instincts, sensing something is wrong. We all have it, whether we choose to listen to our intuition or not. If you can listen to your body, it will tell you when something about a situation or a person is off. Honing this skill is important as a founder.

--

--

Miriam Dorsett

Hi! I’m an aficianado of loving life. I live mostly in Miami, & write from wherever. Like Nadura. Do Chibur. Believe #whynot!? Necessito practicar mi espanol.